Passion with Purpose

A Peek Into Your Passion at ylcf.org

Earlier this month, I read the first post on ylcf.org about Passion. I wondered what my “passion with a purpose” was as I hurried out the door. It wasn’t that I didn’t think I was passionate – I often use that word to describe myself. I just wasn’t sure what my purpose was.

It turns out I simply couldn’t see the forest for the trees, for when I arrived at my destination a wave of anticipation hit me, and with it, realization. I was on the University campus for a pro-life outreach.

Ever since going through Justice For All‘s Abortion: From Debate to Dialogue training for the first time, I have found a passion for meaningful dialogue, not just about abortion, but other things like creation science or man’s relationship to God. The training (which I have been through 4 times) taught me key techniques, like humbly asking questions, to gently reason with people so as to find Truth.

17 Learn to do good;
Seek justice,
Rebuke the oppressor;
[a]
Defend the fatherless,
Plead for the widow.
18 “ Come now, and let us reason together,”
Says the LORD

 

If you’d like to read more about meaningful conversations I have had, click on the “God Stories” tab in the sidebar.

4 Comments to “Passion with Purpose”

  1. what a wonderful and needed passion!

  2. I know it may seem kind of obvious, because I write, but it took me a while to REALLY realise what my passion is – and then it’s sort of writing, but really writing to inspire girls. And that’s a long way of saying that I really identify with your wondering about the purpose in your passion. And, wow, meaningful dialogue is so good, so needed! Be encouraged, Jordan. I’m sure God will do great things through your passion AND the purpose in your passion!

  3. I also sort of had to take a moment to think when Gretchen sent us this year’s prompt, because there are many things that stir my heart and I wasn’t sure I had one particular passion, either! I really think what you are doing is so very important! It is a cause close to my heart, and I’ll definitely be praying for you as you seek to promote life and understanding. 🙂

Leave a Reply

