My latest journey into historical reproduction

I have recently been hired to make an 1870 traveling dress that will be on the cover of a new historical novel, Walks Alone by Sandi Rog, published by White Fire Publishing. It will be coming out in January 2012.

The picture is of the mock-up on my new dress form; the real fabric is a beautiful sage green wool. I’m draping the pattern for the bustle skirt myself and using Truly Victorian patterns for the bodice and apron drape.

6 Comments to “My latest journey into historical reproduction”

  1. I can hardly wait to see the finished product! 🙂

  2. I can’t wait to see it either. I love your “vintage” wall. 🙂

  3. I’m still beaming after hearing the news this afternoon. WFB will be happy; you’ll be happy…it’s win-win for you both.

    Love you lots!

    Abuelita

  4. We’re so happy to be working with you, Jordan! Thinking of you was divine inspiration–you not only know this era better than our previous designer (who suffered a miscarriage and wouldn’t have been up for the project), but it’s a stroke of awesomeness that you’re the same size as our model. Can’t wait to see the finished product!

  5. WOW! This is beautiful!! I’ve never really sewed, so I’m in awe of anything like this.
    ~ Mirriam

Leave a Reply

