No one wanted to be here…

Time for another entry to the Go Teen Writers prompt contest:

No one wanted to be here, but at least our nine-year-old sister Katie understood the importance of searching the cave for our parents. My eighteen-year-old twin Colin could only clutch my arm and whimper.

“I h…hear w…water.” The cavern’s echo made his slurred speech harder to understand than usual.

Suddenly, Colin’s grip tightened. He screamed and pulled me down.

Fear punched my gut and throbbed into every vein as the current pulled me under. In an instant I was ten years old again, fighting to protect my brother from the water’s clutches. I didn’t want to fail again.

I got to the top 20, but didn’t place this time. I’m still in first place overall, though, because no one else high up on the leader board placed either!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

