Book Review~Humility, True Greatness

Humility True Greatness Cover by CJ Mahaney

My mom gave me this book for Christmas, right before I left for my trip to New Mexico. It was life-changing.

I had heard a lot of the content before because much of the book is scripture, but the way Pastor Mahaney presented it was amazingly new and different. First of all, while reading the book I could just sense Pastor Mahaney’s own humility. One cannot preach powerfully what one does not live. Secondly, he is fully aware that humility is not natural–it’s hard to be humble!–but God has called us to it, so He will give us the necessary strength.

The main thing that I came away with was that humility is the bottom line. Jesus was first and foremost humble, and we are called to be like Him. God resists the proud but gives grace to the humble. Who wants to be resisted by God?

The book is not long (fewer than 200 pages), but it is full to the brim with practical wisdom that is simple to carry into our own lives.

*Posted for the March of Books on YLCF*

2 Responses to “Book Review~Humility, True Greatness”

  1. Nice review…I need to read this again (and again and again until I live it consistently)–any idea where it is???

    love you,
    Mom

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

