This One Thing I Do

My thoughts on chapter 5 of Cynthia Heald’s Becoming a Woman of Simplicity

“It is better to say, ‘This one thing I do’ than to say, ‘These forty things I dabble with.'” ~D. L. Moody

“Bretheren, I do not regard myself as having laid hold of it yet, but one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and reaching forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.” ~the Apostle Paul, Philippians 3:13-14 NASB

This one thing that I desire to do is to abide in Christ. Mrs. Heald illustrates abiding as keeping her hand in His. I think it is a beautifully descriptive picture. If my hand is in His, I can always be sure that I am headed in the right direction, and with my Guide at my side I can always talk to Him about whatever I’m thinking about.

Mrs. Heald contrasted the abiding servant with the busy servant a couple of weeks ago:

The abiding servant…

    …desires to show Jesus how much she loves Him
    …does the good things He has planned
    …serves in freedom to love

The busy servant…

    …desires to show people how much she loves Jesus
    …does the good things people have planned
    …serves in bondage to perform

From studying John 15:1-17, and other passages on abiding, I have come to think of abiding as Living in Him, Learning of Him and Loving through Him.

But how do I practically apply what I have learned about abiding?

Live in Him~remember that He is beside me. Talk to Him about everyday things–including little worries and little joys–and constantly find ways to thank Him.

Learn of Him~spend undistracted time with Him listening to His Word. Everyday.

Love through Him~love on my own strength is conditional and swayed by emotion. I need to give it over to God and start giving away His inexhaustible supply.

“The Father, the Husbandman, watches over your union and growth in the Vine. You need be nothing more than a branch. Only a branch! Let that be your watchword; it will lead in the path of continual surrender to Christ’s working, of true obedience to His every command, of joyful expectancy of all His grace.

Is there anyone who now asks: ‘How can I learn to say this alright, “Only a branch!” and to live it out?’ Dear soul, the character of a branch, its strength and the fruit it bears, depend entirely on the Vine…. Therefore worship and trust Him; let Him be your one desire and the one occupation of your heart.” ~Andrew Murray

One Trackback to “This One Thing I Do”

Leave a Reply

